Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Digital Audio, Video > Adobe Premiere Pro

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Using the Project Manager

Video files consume large amounts of precious storage space and it's important to manage them efficiently. Organizing your media and reducing storage requirements is achieved with the Project Manager, which allows you to collect and trim your project.

Collecting a project moves all of the project's media to a single location. This is useful when it's time to archive your project or move it to another editing system—especially if your assets aren't well organized and are scattered over one or more hard disks.

Trimming a project identifies the clips you used in sequences and creates a duplicate project that includes only those clips. Moreover, their corresponding media files are trimmed, or shortened, to the range of footage present in sequences. This way, the footage you used consumes less storage space, and you can more easily delete the footage you didn't use.

Whether you collect or trim a project, note that Premiere Pro CS3 saves a new project separately, leaving the original version untouched. This is consistent with the idea of nondestructive editing, explained in Chapter 2, "Starting a Project."

To use the Project Manager:

  1. Choose Project > Project Manager (Figure 4.45).
    Figure 4.45

    Figure 4.45 Choose Project > Project Manager to open the Project Manager.

    The Project Manager dialog box appears (Figure 4.46).
    Figure 4.46

    Figure 4.46 With the Project Manager, you can collect and trim your project.

  2. Do one of the following:
    • To create a new trimmed project, select Create New Trimmed Project.
    • To collect all of the project's assets into a common location, select Collect Files and Copy to New Location.
  3. Specify other options.

    These options are explained in detail in the next section, "Choosing Project Manager Options."

  4. In the Disk Space area of the Project Manager, click Calculate to calculate the disk space required to store the new files.

    The Calculate Progress panel appears briefly while the required disk space is being calculated (Figure 4.47).

    Figure 4.47

    Figure 4.47 The Calculate Progress panel appears briefly while Premiere Pro CS3 calculates the required disk space.

  5. In the Project Destination area of the Project Manager, click the Browse button and specify a destination.

    The Browse for Folder dialog box appears (Figure 4.48).

    Figure 4.48

    Figure 4.48 Use the Browse for Folder dialog box to select a destination.

  6. Specify the location for the collected or trimmed files.
  7. Click OK to create the new files.

    The Project Manager Progress panel appears, indicating that the project is being trimmed (Figure 4.49) or copied (Figure 4.50). When processing is complete, the original project is still open. To use the new project, close the original project and open the new project.

    Figure 4.49

    Figure 4.49 The Project Manager Progress panel shows the project being trimmed...

    Figure 4.50

    Figure 4.50 ...or copied.

Choosing Project Manager Options

The Project Manager includes a number of options, depending on whether you trim or collect your project:

  • Exclude Unused Clips: Excludes media from the new project that you didn't use in the original project.
  • Make Offline: Marks as offline any footage that you can recapture later. Select this option when you want the Project Manager to retain reel names and timecode to facilitate quick batch capture. This option is available only if Create New Trimmed Project is selected.
  • Include Handles: Specifies the number of frames retained before the In point and after the Out point of each trimmed clip.
  • Include Preview Files: Specifies that effects you rendered in the original project stay rendered in the new project. When this option is selected, the new project requires more disk space; so, unless the footage requires extensive rendering, leave this option unchecked when backing up projects. This option is available only if you select Collect Files and Copy to New Location.
  • Include Audio Conform Files: Specifies that the audio you conformed in the original project remains conformed in the new project. When this option is selected, the new project requires more disk space, but the audio doesn't need to be conformed again when you open the project. This option is available only if you select Collect Files and Copy to New Location.
  • Rename Media Files to Match Clip Names: Renames the copied clips with the same names as the captured clips. Select this option if you rename your captured clips in the Project panel and want the copied footage files to have the same names.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account