Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Design > Adobe Creative Suite

📄 Contents

  1. Version Versus "Virtual Copy"
  2. The Setup
  3. Comparing, Viewing, and Saving Your Virtual Copies
  4. Saving Virtual Copies
  5. >Wrapping Up
  • Print
  • + Share This
Like this article? We recommend

Comparing, Viewing, and Saving Your Virtual Copies

Now that you’ve created all these different versions (virtual copies) of your photos, you need an easy way to view and compare them, right? No problem.

Comparing Virtual Copies

  1. Go back to the Library module. Select each thumbnail that you’d like to compare (the original as well as all of the virtual copies you created).
  2. Click the Survey View button under the photo browser area to bring only those four photos to the screen. Now you can compare all four and decide which you like best (see Figure 6).

    Figure 6

Viewing Virtual Copies

Picture this: Your client walks in and wants to see the photos you’ve prepared, or you want to get your versions up onto a web site for quick viewing.

  1. On the bottom of the window (right above the filmstrip) is the filter bar. In Lightroom 1.1, Adobe graciously added a new icon for viewing just your virtual copies. Click this icon (it’s the second one from the far right) and you’ll see only the virtual copies, as shown in Figure 7.
  2. Now you can click the Slideshow module (or the Web module, if you want to make a web gallery) and launch right into it, without fumbling around and looking for the right photos to show (see Figure 8).
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account