Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Gadgets and Digital Lifestyle

  • Print
  • + Share This
From the author of Managing Groups

Managing Groups

In addition to adding members to an existing group, you can manage your Gmail groups by removing members, renaming groups, or deleting groups that you no longer need.

To remove selected contacts from a group, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Contacts link on the left side of the Gmail window.
  2. Select the group name from the list in the Contact Manager.
  3. The list of group members appears.

  4. Click the checkboxes of members that you want to remove from the group.
  5. Click the Groups toolbar icon and choose the group name from the Remove from submenu (see Figure 10).
  6. The selected contacts are removed from the chosen group.

Figure 10 Choose the group from which the selected contacts are to be removed.

To rename a group, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Contacts link on the left side of the Gmail window.
  2. Select the group name from the list in the Contact Manager.
  3. Click the Edit toolbar icon.
  4. Edit the group name and click Save (see Figure 11).
  5. The group is renamed as specified.

Figure 11 Edit the group name and click the Save button.

To delete a group, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Contacts link on the left side of the Gmail window.
  2. Select the group name from the list in the Contact Manager.
  3. Click the Delete Group toolbar icon.
  4. Click OK in the confirmation dialog box that appears (see Figure 12).
  5. The group is deleted. Note that this action merely disbands the group; it doesn't delete the group members' contact records.

Figure 12 Confirm the group deletion by clicking OK.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account

Related Resources

There are currently no related titles. Please check back later.