Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Apple > Operating Systems

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Disabling Actions

Instead of completely deleting an action from a workflow, you way want to disable it. This can be useful for testing purposes, because disabling the action allows you to see how your workflow behaves without the action. If the workflow works well, you can then delete the action. One extremely helpful benefit of disabling an action is that if you do change your mind, you can always enable the action and you won't lose any of the settings that you may have configured.

To disable an action in a workflow:

  1. Select the action in the workflow area.
  2. Choose Action > Disable (Figure 4.31).

    Figure 4.31

    Figure 4.31 Disabling the selected action in a workflow.

    or

    While holding down the 087inline01.jpg key, click the action's title bar to display the contextual menu and choose Disable (Figure 4.32).

    Figure 4.32

    Figure 4.32 Disabling an action within a workflow from the action's contextual menu.

After you disable an action, it appears dimmed within the workflow (Figure 4.33). When you run your workflow, the action is simply ignored.

Figure 4.33

Figure 4.33 A disabled action.

To enable a disabled action:

  1. Select the disabled action.
  2. Choose Action > Enable (Figure 4.34).

    Figure 4.34

    Figure 4.34 Enabling the selected disabled action in a workflow.

    or

    While holding down the 087inline01.jpg key, click the action's title bar to display the contextual menu and choose Enable (Figure 4.35).

    Figure 4.35

    Figure 4.35 Enabling a disabled action within a workflow.

    The action regains its normal appearance and runs as part of your workflow again.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account