Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Design > Adobe Photoshop

  • Print
  • + Share This
From the author of

When Things Go Wrong

It's 11 pm on the night before your big presentation. You've been working on this image for thirteen hours, and you're beginning to experience a bad case of "pixel vision." After making a selection, you run a filter, look carefully, and decide that you don't like the effect. But before you can reach Undo, you accidentally click on the document window, deselecting the area.

That's not so bad, is it? Not until you realize that undoing will only undo the deselection, not the filter and that you haven't saved for half an hour. The mistake remains, and there's no way to get rid of it without losing the last 30 minutes of brain-draining work. Or is there? In this section, we take a look at the various ways you can save yourself when something goes terribly wrong.

Undo. The Þrst defense against any offensive mistake is, of course, Undo. You can Þnd this on the Edit menu, but we suggest keeping one hand conveniently on the Command and Z keys, ready and waiting for the blunder that is sure to come sooner or later. Note that Photoshop is smart enough not to consider some things "undoable." Taking a snapshot, for instance, doesn't count; so you can take a snapshot and then undo whatever you did just before the snapshot.

Revert to Saved. This command is pretty easy to interpret. If you've really messed up something in your image, the best option is often simply to revert the entire Þle to the last saved version by selecting Revert to Saved from the File menu. It's the same as closing the Þle without saving changes, then reopening it, with the exception of using the Missing Profile or Profile Mismatch warnings. Any changes you've made since then are lost, however, so proceed with caution. Note that beginning in Photoshop 6, the Revert to Saved feature is undoable.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account