Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Web Design & Development > Adobe Dreamweaver

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Saving a Copy of a File

If you want to use a page as a template for another, similar page, you can save a copy of the page with a different filename. Guidelines for using Dreamweaver templates and creating custom templates are in Chapter 17.

To save a copy of a page:

  1. Open the page in the Document window, if it's not there already.

  2. From the Document window menu bar, select File > Save As. The Save As dialog box will appear (Figure 3.47).

    Figure 3.47Figure 3.47 You use the same Save As dialog box to save a copy of a file as you do to save it in the first place. In this figure, we're saving the file press.html as press2.html, so we'll have two versions of the same file.


  3. Type a new filename for the new page in the File name text box.

  4. Click on Save. The Save As dialog box will close and return you to the Document window.

The Document window will now display the copy of the file, as indicated by the filename in the Document window's title bar.

Dreamweaver Templates vs. Copying Files

You may be used to creating a Web page and then saving copies of it over and over in order to create many pages based on the design of the first.

Dreamweaver has a built-in template feature, described in Chapter 17. Dream Templates, as they're called, have their pros and cons. In those templates, you need to designate areas of the page that can be changed. Everything else on the page is fixed, and only those marked areas are editable. These regions may also be used in conjunction with XML.

This is a great idea for locking pages and giving basic data entry work to temps or interns (or marketing). On the other hand, sometimes it's just easier to do it the old-fashioned way and skip the fancy stuff.

To close a page:

  • Click on the close box, or select File > Close from the Document window's menu bar.

    Occasionally, you may open a page, make a few changes, and realize that something has gone horribly wrong. Or you may be fooling around with a document you have no intention of saving. In those instances, you can close without saving the changes.

To close without saving:

  1. From the Document window menu bar, select File > Close. A dialog box will appear asking you if you want to save your changes (Figure 3.48).

    Figure 3.48Figure 3.48 To close a file (such as a template, for example) without saving the changes, click on No when this dialog box appears.


  2. Click No. The dialog box and the page will close.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account