Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Digital Audio, Video > QuickTime

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Disabling and Enabling Tracks

You can selectively disable and enable tracks in a movie. For visual tracks, this gives you a way to hide or reveal tracks. You may find this capability useful during editing, when you want to focus on individual tracks without being distracted by others. You may also want to do this for a final movie—to make a text track invisible yet still searchable, for example. Unlike a deleted track, a disabled track can always be enabled, even after the movie is saved.

To disable a track:

  1. From the Edit menu, choose Enable Tracks (Figure 7.11).

    Figure 7.11 Figure 7.11 If you want to enable or disable a track, from the Edit menu, choose Enable Tracks.


  2. In the Enable Tracks dialog, click the line in the list that contains the name of the track you want to disable (Figure 7.12). The text in the box to the left of the track name changes from A green ON to a red OFF.

    Figure 7.12 Figure 7.12 Select the track or tracks you want to disable, and click OK.


  3. Click OK.

To enable a disabled track:

  1. From the Edit menu, choose Enable Tracks.

  2. In the Enable Tracks dialog, click the line containing the name of the disabled track (one with a red OFF to the left of the track name) you want to turn back on. The text in the box to the left of the track name changes from a red OFF to a green ON.

  3. Click OK.

TIPS

  • Disabled tracks are ignored when you export. (We'll cover exporting movies in Chapter 15.)

  • (AppleScript users only) If you have disabled tracks and decide that you don't want to keep them around after all, choose Tracks > Delete All Disabled Tracks.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account