Lose Your History
History states remain accessible while you’re working on an image, but you lose the history when you close it. In addition, if you make a duplicate of an image, the history states are removed from the duplicate image, but they remain accessible in the original image.
Snapshots are also lost when the image is saved. You can save a snapshot as a new file, however, simply by right-clicking the snapshot and choosing New Document.