Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Digital Photography > Adobe Photoshop Lightroom

This chapter is from the book

Editing a Bunch of Photos at Once Using Auto Sync

So you learned earlier how to edit one photo, copy those edits, and then paste those edits onto other photos, but there’s a “live-batch editing” feature called Auto Sync that you might like better (well, I like it better, anyway). Here’s what it is: you select a bunch of similar photos, and then any edit you make to one photo is automatically applied to the other selected photos, live, while you’re editing (no copying-and-pasting necessary). Each time you move a slider, or make an adjustment, all the other selected photos update right along with it.

  • Step One: Start in the Library module by clicking on the photo you want to edit, then go down to the Filmstrip and Command-click (PC: Ctrl-click) on all the other photos you want to have the same adjustments as the first one (as shown here, where I’ve selected 14 photos that all need a Fill Light adjustment). You see the first photo you clicked on in the center Preview area (Adobe calls this first-selected photo the “most selected” photo). Now, if you take a look at the bottom of the right side Panels area, it used to say “Previous,” but when you select multiple photos, it changes to “Sync...” (as shown circled here in red). If you press-and-hold the Command (PC: Ctrl) key, it changes to Auto Sync.
  • Step Two: You can also click on the little switch to the left of the Sync button and it turns on Auto Sync (you can see here the button now says “Auto Sync”). Now, increase the Fill Light amount to around 25 (which makes the shadow areas brighter). As you make these changes, look at the selected photos in the Filmstrip—they all get the exact same adjustments, but without any copying-and-pasting, or dealing with a dialog, or anything. By the way, Auto Sync stays on until you turn off that little switch to the left of the Auto Sync button.

    Note: Remember, you won’t see the Sync or Auto Sync buttons until you select multiple photos. Otherwise, it will say Previous.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account