Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Apple > Operating Systems

  • Print
  • + Share This
Like this article? We recommend

Screen Sharing

The Share Screen feature of Remote Desktop is perhaps its most unique user-interaction feature. Using the Share Screen command enables you to replace the screen of the selected computers with the contents of the screen from another computer. You can choose to share your own screen or the screen of any managed computer. This is a powerful tool that enables you to easily share or convey information without the use of a projector or having people gather around a single computer. The fact that it can be used with computers that are in a single room or spread out across the country makes it a very powerful tool for teaching, presenting, or collaborating.

To use the share screen feature, select the computers to which you want to project. Then choose Share Screen from the Interact menu. In the task dialog box that is displayed, you can opt to share your screen, or you can drag and drop a computer from any computer list into the dialog box to share that screen.

When you share a screen, the computer to which you are projecting will display the shared screen only. It will be displayed full screen (scaled as needed to fit). While you are sharing a screen, Remote Desktop will display a task window that lists the number of computers to which you are projecting and the time you initiated the command (as well as the computer whose screen you are sharing). To stop sharing a screen, select the instance of the command in this window and click the stop button.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account