Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Design > Adobe Photoshop

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Merging and deleting adjustment layers

When an adjustment layer is merged downward, the adjustments are applied permanently to the underlying image layer. If you change your mind, either choose Edit > Undo right away or click the prior state on the History panel.

To merge an adjustment layer downward:

  • Do either of the following:
    • Click the adjustment layer to be merged downward, then press Ctrl-E/Cmd-E.
    • Right-click/Control-click near the adjustment layer name and choose Merge Down.

To delete an adjustment layer:star.jpg

  • Do either of the following:
  • Click an adjustment layer on the Layers panel, then press Backspace/Delete.
  • Click an adjustment layer on the Layers panel (not the mask thumbnail), then click the Delete Layer button on the same panel, delete-layer-button.jpg or on the Adjustments panel, click the Delete Adjustment Layer button. delete-layer-button.jpg Click Yes if an alert appears. Optional: Click Don’t Show Again to prevent the alert from reappearing.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account