Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Design

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Sync Lock and Track Lock

Now that we have items on two tracks in the Timeline, we should talk about Sync Lock and Track Lock. Sync Lock is enabled by default on all tracks and ensures that all tracks are affected equally by certain adjustments made to any track.

For example, note that the St. Basil’s title is located directly above the St. Basil’s clip, exactly 16 seconds into the video a_icon.jpg. If I inserted a five-second intro title on V1, I would still want the St. Basil’s title to be located above the corresponding clip, and with Sync Lock enabled for both tracks, Premiere Pro would move both clips five seconds to the right b_icon.jpg. Perfect; just what we wanted.

05fig54.jpg

Click to view larger image

a_icon.jpg Our starting point. Note that the St. Basil’s title and clip are aligned 16 seconds into the sequence.

05fig55.jpg

Click to view larger image

b_icon.jpg With Sync Lock enabled, the St. Basil’s clip and title shifted five seconds to the right.

Now suppose the title had nothing to do with the clip but just needed to appear 16 seconds into the video. With Sync Lock enabled in both tracks, adding a five-second title to track V1 would move V2 five seconds as well, which isn’t what we want in this case. So, you would disable Sync Lock on V2 c_icon.jpg and add the title to V1, and the title wouldn’t move.

05fig56.jpg

Click to view larger image

c_icon.jpg With Sync Lock disabled, the St. Basil’s clip shifts five seconds to the right, but the title doesn’t move.

Any time you don’t want the content on some tracks adjusted for edits made in other tracks, disable Sync Lock for the tracks that you don’t want affected.

Track Lock is totally different, and simply locks the track from either direct editing or from adjustments made to other synced tracks d_icon.jpg.

05fig57.jpg

Click to view larger image

d_icon.jpg The locked track stays put.

To enable and disable Sync Lock

  1. Sync Lock is enabled by default. To disable Sync Lock, click the Toggle Sync Lock button grey_a_icon.jpg. When you see a line over the Sync Lock icon, Sync Lock is disabled disabled.jpg.
  2. To enable Sync Lock, click the Toggle Sync Lock button grey_a_icon.jpg. When the line disappears, Sync Lock is enabled enabled.jpg.

To enable and disable Track Lock

  1. To lock a track, click the Toggle Track Lock button grey_a_icon.jpg; the lock icon closes, and Premiere Pro displays a diagonal line pattern on the track grey_d_icon.jpg.
  2. To unlock a track, click the Toggle Track Lock button; the lock icon opens Image and the diagonal line pattern disappears.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account