Saving and Naming Documents
From one standpoint, you don’t need to do anything to save your Office for iPad documents, because from the moment it’s created it’s autosaved every few seconds. Because Microsoft understands that you’re working on a mobile device, which you might put aside at any moment, the Auto-Save feature is turned on by default. New documents are autosaved to the safest location, your iPad’s internal storage, because it is inherently more reliable than a Wi-Fi connection to your OneDrive cloud storage.
After you have worked on a document for a while, you can check that it is automatically being saved to your iPad by tapping the File icon in the upper-left corner of the Ribbon (4.4). The File sheet shows that AutoSave is on and that changes are automatically being saved to your iPad (4.5).
4.4 You’ll do most of your file manipulation with the Back and File buttons in the Ribbon.
4.5 This File sheet shows that this particular document is being automatically saved to the iPad’s internal storage.
Though the document is being autosaved to your iPad now, you may prefer that it instead be saved to your OneDrive cloud storage so you can access it on other devices, and in the process also give the document a name. Follow these steps:
Tap the File button on the Ribbon.
The File sheet appears, as shown in 4.5.
The Save As dialog appears (4.6).
4.6 By default, your OneDrive is selected as the default location for saving a document.
In the Name field, replace the default name with the name you want.
By default, the storage location for your document is your OneDrive; tap a OneDrive folder to choose where you want to store the document (4.7).
4.7 The Save As dialog gives you the chance to name the document, which will be saved in my OneDrive’s Documents folder.
Note that you can also choose to continue saving the document to your iPad’s internal storage by simply tapping iPad in the Save As dialog. Wherever you choose to save the document, to the cloud or local storage, that will become the location where the document is autosaved from then on.
The file gets saved to your selected location, and you are returned to the document for further editing (4.8).
4.8 After the first time you save a document, Word assumes you want to continue working on it.