Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Design > Adobe FrameMaker

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Working in Book Files

Many tasks you perform in a file, such as searching and spell checking, are the same even when you perform them across all files in a book. Other tasks, such as renaming files in a book or the book file itself, work a little differently.

Renaming book files

Even after you've built a book, you may want to rename a file in the book.

To change the filename of a document in a book:

  1. In the book window, select the file you want to rename (Figure 13.47).

    Figure 13.47Figure 13.47 Select the file you want to rename.

  2. From the Edit menu, choose Rename File. A box appears around the filename.

  3. Type a new name for the file and press

    Enter or Return (Figure 13.48). The first of two warning messages appears.

    Figure 13.48Figure 13.48 Type a new name for the file and press Enter or Return.

  4. Read the warning message and click OK (Figure 13.49).

    Figure 13.49Figure 13.49 Read the first warning message ...

    A second warning message appears.

  5. Read the second warning message and click OK (Figure 13.50).

    Figure 13.50Figure 13.50 ... and the second warning message.

    The corresponding file is renamed and cross-references, hypertext links, and text inset links are updated in the other files in the book (Figure 13.51).

    Figure 13.51Figure 13.51 The file is renamed, and the new name appears in the book window.

To change the name of a book:

  1. In the book window, choose File > Save Book As (Figure 13.52).

    Figure 13.52Figure 13.52 Choose File > Save Book As.

  2. In the Save Book dialog box, type a new for the book in the Name text box click Save (Figure 13.53).

    Figure 13.53Figure 13.53 Type a new name for the book.

    The book is saved with the new name and any generated files are renamed to match the new book filename (Figure 13.54).

    Figure 13.54Figure 13.54 The book is renamed and so are generated files.

Tips

  • When you add a generated file to a book, it is assigned a filename based on the book's filename. If you rename a book, FrameMaker renames the generated files to match the new filename for the book. If you rename a generated file so it no longer has this default filename, renaming the book won't rename the generated file.

  • If you are saving the book to a new location, you will need to open and save each file in the book individually to the new location.

Adding metadata to a book

FrameMaker includes built-in Extensible Metadata Platform (XMP) support. Metadata is descriptive information about the file and its contents that can be searched and processed by a computer, for example, as part of a content management system.

To add metadata to a book file:

  1. In the book window, from the File menu, choose File Info.

    The File Info for Selected Files dialog box appears.

  2. Add descriptive information in the form fields (Figure 13.55) and click Set. If the book becomes part of a knowledge database, for example, the metadata you added will be used to track, manage, and retrieve this document.

    Figure 13.55Figure 13.55 The metadata form.


Opening, closing, and saving files from a book window

You can use a book window to open, save, print, and close individual files in the book. You can also open, save, and close all of the files in the book at once, and you can print and update the format of several files or all files at once.

To open files from a book window:

  • To open one file in a book, select the file and double-click it.

  • (Windows) To open several files, select the files you want to open and press Enter.

    or

    (Mac OS) To open several files, select the files you want to open and double-click one of the files.

  • To open all the files in the book, hold down the Shift key and from the book's File menu, choose Open All Files in Book (Figure 13.56).

    Figure 13.56Figure 13.56 Choose File > Open All Files in Book.

    The documents in the book open one at a time until all the files are open.

When FrameMaker opens all files in a book, updating the files can take time. You can avoid this processing by suppressing automatic updating.

To suppress automatic updating:

  1. From the book's Edit menu, choose Suppress Automatic Reference Updating (Figure 13.57).

    Figure 13.57Figure 13.57 Choose Edit > Suppress Automatic Reference Updating.


  2. In the Suppress Automatic Reference Updating dialog box, click the check box and click Set (Figure 13.58).

    Figure 13.58Figure 13.58 Click the Suppress Automatic Updating check box and click Set.

    Now when you open all the files in a book, cross-references and text insets will not be updated, and files will open more quickly. Remember to turn automatic updating back on when you no longer need to open all of the files at once. Do the same as before, but turn off Suppress Automatic Updating.

To save all files in a book:

  • Hold down the Shift key, and from the book's File menu, choose Save All Files in Book (Figure 13.59).

    Figure 13.59Figure 13.59 Choose File > Save All Files in Book.

    All files in the book are saved, including the book itself.

To close all files in a book:

  • Hold down the Shift key, and from the book's File menu, choose Close All Files in Book (Figure 13.60).

    Figure 13.60Figure 13.60 Choose File > Close All Files in Book.

    All files in the book are closed, but the book window stays open.

Reverting to the last saved book

Settings for a book and for individual files in a book are saved with the book file. To change the contents of an individual file, you work in the file itself. Contents of individual files are not affected by reversion to the last saved book.

To revert to the last saved book:

  1. From the book's File menu, choose Revert to Saved Book (Figure 13.61).

    Figure 13.61Figure 13.61 Choose File > Revert to Saved Book.

  2. When the alert message appears, click OK (Figure 13.62).

    Figure 13.62Figure 13.62 Click OK when prompted to confirm revert to saved.

  3. Files that have been added are deleted; that have been deleted are added back Settings, such as numbering, pagination, or file setup for generated files, revert to the last saved version.

TIP

The File > Revert to Saved Book command affects files that have been added or deleted as well as setting that have been applied to documents in the book, but the contents of the documents are not affected.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account