Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Digital Audio, Video > Avid

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Retrieving Autosaved Versions of Your Work

How do you revert to an earlier version of your project? The simple answer is to find a previous version of your project bins in the Avid Attic. After all, bins contain all of your sequences (as well as source clips, titles, and so on).

However, retrieving bins from the Attic is far from a simple, straightforward process. You need to copy the autosaved bins from the Avid Attic to another location before you open them in Xpress Pro. Then, in Xpress Pro, you need to copy what you want to restore—such as the old sequences you need—from the retrieved bins to your current bin.

If things go wrong and you run into trouble, carefully read the following tasks to first find and retrieve a previous version of a bin from the Avid Attic and then restore it into a current project ( Figure 3.33 ).

03fig33.gif

Figure 3.33 Xpress Pro's Auto-Save feature saves backup copies of everything in all of your active bins, in a folder called the Avid Attic.

To find your autosaved files and bins in the Avid Attic:

  • In Windows, go to C:\Program Files\Avid\Avid Xpress Pro\Avid Users to find the Avid Attic folder (assuming that your program is in drive c; otherwise, substitute the letter for the drive you are using).
  • In Mac OS, go to drive/Users/Shared to find the Avid Attic folder.

To retrieve saved bin files from the Avid Attic

  1. Quit the Xpress Pro application.
  2. Find the Avid Attic folder on your computer in the location described in the preceding task.
  3. In the Avid Attic folder, open the Bins folder and then open the folder for your project. In that folder, find the folder with the same title as the bin or bins you want to retrieve.
  4. Once you find the right bin folder, find the particular bin files you want by looking at their creation dates. Copy the selected backup bin files you want to retrieve to a new location—Xpress Pro does not let you open an old bin directly from the Attic ( Figure 3.34 ).
    • In Windows, copy the selected files by dragging them to the desktop or right-clicking them, choosing Copy, going to another location, right-clicking, and choosing Paste.
    • In Mac OS, copy the selected files by Option-dragging them or pressing Command+D (for Duplicate); then drag the copies to the desktop.
    03fig34.gif

    Figure 3.34 If you try to open an old bin directly from the Avid Attic, Xpress Pro presents this dialog box. To open an old bin in Xpress Pro, you need to copy your old bin to your project folder.

    You now have a duplicate copy of your bin files, independent of the copy in the Avid Attic. To open the retrieved bin in Xpress Pro and restore it to your current project, see the next task, "To restore files from the Attic into a current project."

To restore files from the Attic into a current project:

  1. Launch the Xpress Pro application again and click the Project window to activate it. Close the current version of the bin you want to restore.
  2. Choose File > Open Bin.
  3. Navigate to the copy of the backup bin file you created in the preceding task and click Open. The retrieved bin opens in a new window, and Xpress Pro creates a folder (called Other Bins) for the retrieved bin on the Bins tab of the Project window ( Figure 3.36 ).
    03fig36.jpg

    Figure 3.36 When you open an old bin from the Avid Attic, a folder called Other Bins is created in your Project window. That folder contains the old, retrieved bin.

  4. Create a new bin called Temporary Bin. Drag the objects you want to rescue from the retrieved bin to the Temporary Bin folder ( Figure 3.37 ).
    03fig37.jpg

    Figure 3.37 Drag what you want to retrieve from the old, retrieved bin into a temporary bin. Then delete the old, retrieved bin from the Project window (or drag it to the trash). Finally, drag the retrieved objects from the temporary bin to one of your normal bins and trash the temporary bin.

  5. Trash the Other Bins folder from your Project window, by selecting it and pressing the Delete key.
  6. Drag the retrieved files from the Temporary Bin folder to any other bin in your Project window. Put the Temporary Bin folder in the trash can in the Project window. You can now continue editing using your older sequence version, or whatever it is you retrieved from the Attic.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account