Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Design > Adobe Creative Suite

  • Print
  • + Share This
  • 💬 Discuss

Customizing the Bridge window

To change the backdrop and thumbnail data in the Bridge window★

  1. Choose Edit (Bridge, in the Mac OS) > Preferences (Ctrl-K/Cmd-K). The Preferences dialog box opens.
  2. On the left side, click General, and in the Appearance area,A do any of the following:
    • Move the User Interface Brightness slider to set the gray value for the side panes.
    • Move the Image Backdrop slider to set a separate backdrop value for the center pane and the Preview panel.B (When we work in Bridge, we use black for our center pane and dark gray for the side panes, but for printing reasons, we used lighters colors for the figures in this book.)
    • Choose an Accent Color for the border around the currently selected folder, thumbnail, or stack, and for categories in the Metadata panel.
  3. Click Thumbnails to switch to that pane. From the Detail: Show menus, choose to display up to four additional lines of metadata (image info) below the image thumbnails. Use this option to list information that’s important to you. Also decide whether to Show Tooltips.
  4. Click OK.
    • To toggle the display of metadata on or off in the Content panel, press Ctrl-T/Cmd-T.
    • To learn more about the Bridge Preferences, see pages 392–393 and Bridge > Help.

To further customize the Bridge workspace, you can resize, move, or hide any of the panels. If you save your layout as a user-created workspace, as per the instructions on the next page, you’ll be able to access it again quickly at any time.

To customize the layout of Bridge

Do any of the following:

  • To make a panel taller/shorter, drag the horizontal bar upward/downward;A other panels in the same group will scale accordingly.
  • To make a whole pane wider or narrower, drag the vertical bar sideways;B the center pane will resize accordingly.
  • To display only the Content pane in a compact window, click the Compact Mode button compact_mode_button.jpg in the upper right corner of the Bridge window; click it again to restore the full window.
  • To minimize/collapse any panel (except Content) to a tab only, double-click its tab.
  • Drag any panel tab (name) into another panel group (release the mouse when the blue “drop zone” frame appears around the desired group).
  • Drag a panel tab above/below another panel (release the mouse when a horizontal blue drop zone line appears in the desired location).
  • To have the center pane fill the entire window, click the Show/Hide Panels button show-hide_panels_but.jpg in the lower left corner of the Bridge window or press Tab; repeat to redisplay the side panes.
  • To change the size of the thumbnails, move the thumbnail slider (below the Content panel);C or click the Smaller Thumbnail Size button custom_thumb_size_button1.jpg or Larger Thumbnail Size button.custom_thumb_size_button2.jpg
  • To display image thumbnails and folders in the Content panel, check Show Folders on the View menu. To display image thumbnails but not folders, choose the command again (to remove the check mark).

If you save your customized workspaces in Bridge, you won’t have to spend time setting up your workspace each time you relaunch the application.

To save a Bridge workspace★

  1. Choose a size and location of the overall Bridge window, a size (and groupings) for the panels, and a thumbnail size for the Content panel.
  2. From any of the 3 workspace menus in the lower right corner of the Bridge window, choose Save Workspace. The Save Workspace dialog box opens.
  3. Enter a Name for the workspace, choose a Keyboard Shortcut (or choose None), check Save Window Location as Part of Workspace and/or check Save Sort Order as Part of Workspace (both are optional), then click Save. (To learn about sorting thumbnails, see page 73.)

To access saved workspaces★

  • To choose any predefined or saved workspace, choose the workspace name from one of the workspace menus. The workspace you choose will become the default for that button. Click the button to redisplay that particular workspace.
  • Any changes you make to the current workspace, such as resizing a panel, will be saved to the button you assigned that workspace to. (Click a different workspace button, then click the button for the modified workspace, and you’ll see what we mean.) To redisplay a workspace without your changes, choose it from the workspace menu instead of clicking the button.
  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account

Discussions

comments powered by Disqus