Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Web Design & Development > Adobe Dreamweaver

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Using the Files Panel

After you create a local site, the Files panel displays all files and folders under your local root folder. This interface enables you to manage all site files. You can move, rename, delete, copy, paste, and open files within this interface.

Preferences

You can alter the appearance and settings for the local site by opening the Dreamweaver Preferences dialog box and choosing the Site category. Choose Edit > Preferences (Windows) or Dreamweaver > Preferences (Macintosh) to open the dialog box. These settings apply to all sites that you define within Dreamweaver. Table 3.2 shows the Site settings that you can alter.

Table 3.2. Site Preferences

SETTING

DESCRIPTION

Always Show [Local/Remote] on the [Left/Right]

This setting enables you to reverse the left-to-right order of the local and remote panes when the Files panel is expanded.

Dependent Files

These settings enable Dreamweaver to display a prompt to transfer dependent files when uploading (put/check-in) or downloading (get/check-out). Dependent files are files such as images that the browser loads when it loads an html file.

FTP Settings

These settings determine whether the connection to the remote site is terminated after the specified numbers of minutes have passed with no activity. If there is no response after the specified amount of time, Dreamweaver displays a warning dialog box alerting the user. If that dialog is not responded to in a specified number of seconds, the default option is considered selected.

Firewall Settings

These settings enable you to set the address of the proxy server and the port, if it is other than the standard 21.

Put Options: Save Files Before Putting

This option indicates that unsaved files are saved automatically before being put onto the remote site.

Move Options: Prompt before moving files on server

This option indicates a prompt will be displayed before any files are moved onto the server.

Manage Sites

This button brings up the Site Definition dialog box, in which you can edit an existing site or create a new one.

arrow.gif See Chapter 15, "Team Collaboration," for more information on file check in/out.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account