Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Digital Photography > Adobe Photoshop Lightroom

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Fixing a Bunch of Photos Live, While Editing Just One (Using Auto Sync)

So you just learned how to edit one photo, copy those edits, and then paste those edits onto other photos, but there’s a “live-batch editing” feature called Auto Sync that you might like better (well, I like it better, anyway). Here’s what it is: you select a bunch of similar photos, and then any edit you make to one photo is automatically applied to the other selected photos, live, while you’re editing (no copying-and-pasting necessary). Each time you move a slider, or make an adjustment, all the other selected photos update right along with it.

Step One:

Start in the Library module by clicking on the photo you want to edit, then go to the Develop module and down in the filmstrip, Command-click (PC: Ctrl-click) on all the other photos you want to have the same adjustments as the first one (as shown here, where I’ve selected nine photos that all need a Fill Light adjustment). You see the first photo you clicked on in the center Preview area (Adobe calls this first-selected photo the “most selected” photo). Now, press-and-hold the Command (PC: Ctrl) key and click once on the Sync button at the bottom of the right side Panels area (as shown here).

Step Two:

When you do that, it turns Auto Sync on (you can see the button now says “Auto Sync”). Now, increase the Fill Light amount to around 60 (which makes the bottle brighter), then bring up the Blacks just a little (to keep the bottle from looking washed out), and then increase the Clarity amount to around 75 to really make it have some snap. As you make these changes, look at the selected photos in the filmstrip—they all get the exact same adjustments, but without any copying-and-pasting, or dealing with a dialog, or anything. By the way, Auto Sync stays on until you Command-click (PC: Ctrl-click) on the Auto Sync button again.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account