Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Digital Photography > Adobe Photoshop Lightroom

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book Removing or Deleting Photos

Removing or Deleting Photos

Lightroom gives you two choices when you’re ready to weed out those photos you’ve marked as bad or second-rate. You can remove a photo from the current Lightroom catalog or delete it from your hard drive. Removing photos does not erase the image but simply tells Lightroom to ignore it. In effect, the pointer from the catalog back to the actual image is severed, which does not free up much space on your hard drive. In contrast, deleting a photo moves it to your Recycle Bin/Trash. Once you empty the Recycle Bin/Trash, the photo will be erased and you regain that 5–10Mb of space on the hard drive. Whether you remove or delete depends on your ruthlessness as an editor—and whether you truly want a photo gone for good. By the way, removing or deleting those photos before you start major keywording saves you a lot of work. (Keywording is covered in the next chapter.)

To remove or delete photos:

  1. Select the photo(s) you want to remove or delete A.
  2. A Select the photo you want to remove or delete. In this case, the left photo is flagged as a reject.

  3. Press the Backspace/Delete key.
  4. In the dialog that appears, do one of the following:
    • If you only want to remove the photo(s) from the Lightroom catalog, choose Remove B.
    • B If you only want to remove the photo from the Lightroom catalog, choose Remove.

      or

    • If you want to remove the photo(s) from the Lightroom catalog and delete it from your hard drive, choose Delete from Disk C.
    • C If you want to remove the photo from the Lightroom catalog and delete it from your hard drive, choose Delete from Disk.

  5. With either choice, the photo no longer appears in the Filmstrip or the main Lightroom window D. If you chose to delete the photo, it’s moved to the Recycle Bin/Trash, along with the catalog’s accompanying XMP (metadata) file E.
  6. D In either case, the photo no longer appears in Lightroom’s main window or Filmstrip.

    E If you choose to delete the photo, it’s moved to the Recycle Bin/Trash, along with the catalog’s accompanying XMP file.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account