Autosave to the Rescue
Autosaves are a type of post revision. An autosave doesn't overwrite published content, but it allows you to recover your work if your browser crashes, you lose your Internet connection, or (as in the case just discussed) you've made changes after someone else has taken over a post.
When WordPress autosaves, you'll see a notice at the top of your post edit screen, letting you know that the backup of the post in your browser is different from the current version (see Figure 4).
Figure 4 If WordPress autosaves, you'll see a notice at the top of your Edit Post screen.
You can restore the backup by clicking the Restore the Backup link.
Don't remember what you've changed? To see the difference between your current version onscreen and the autosave, check out the WordPress revisions feature, described next.