Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Digital Audio, Video > Final Cut Express

  • Print
  • + Share This
This chapter is from the book

Deleting Media

To delete media files, you have to go outside Final Cut Express, locate the files in the project's Capture Scratch folder, and move them to the Trash.

You delete unused render files from disk in the same way. You'll find render files in folders labeled Audio Render Files and Video Render Files. If you render frequently, you would be surprised how much storage space your old render files can hog.

To delete a source media file from disk:

  1. Save your project and quit Final Cut Express.
  2. In the Finder, navigate to the project's Capture Scratch folder and select the media file you want to delete.
  3. Control-click the selected media file; then choose Move to Trash from the shortcut menu (Figure 4.31).
    Figure 4.31

    Figure 4.31 In the project's Capture Scratch folder, Control-click the media file you want to delete; then choose Move to Trash from the shortcut menu.

    The source media file is moved to the Trash.

  4. Relaunch FCE and open the project.

    If you have not previously deleted the clips that reference the source media file, you'll see the Offline Files dialog box listing the media file you moved to the Trash.

  5. In the Offline Files dialog box, check Media Files and then click the Continue button to update your FCE project's item tracking (Figure 4.32).
    Figure 4.32

    Figure 4.32 When the Offline Files dialog box appears, check Media Files and then click the Continue button to update your FCE project's item tracking, removing the deleted file from the project's database.

    To finally delete the files, you'll need to empty the Trash manually. If you change your mind later, before you empty the Trash, and want to retrieve the files, drag them out of the Trash and reconnect them to your project by using the Reconnect Media command. If you empty the Trash, your files are finally deleted.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account