Publishers of technology books, eBooks, and videos for creative people

Home > Articles > Apple > Operating Systems

Like this article? We recommend

Saying Goodbye to Users and Deleting Their Home Directories

You should delete a home directory only after you have deleted a user account and are certain that no one needs access to files stored in the home directory. Once a user’s account is deleted, the home directory can be accessed or deleted only by the root user (either through the terminal or having logged in as root at the server using the login window). As root, you can also change the permission to a home directory so that other users can access the items it contains or copy them into another user’s home directory or to a folder on the server or within a share point.

For more information on the Macintosh, visit our Macintosh Reference Guide or sign up for our Macintosh Newsletter.

  • + Share This
  • 🔖 Save To Your Account